Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The boat people / Sharon Bala.

Bala, Sharon, (author.).
Book Book ([2018])
Description: 338 pages ; 25 cm
Publisher: New York : Doubleday, [2018]
8 of 8 copies available at NOBLE (All Libraries).
1 of 1 copy available at Winthrop. (Show preferred library)
1 current hold with 8 total copies.
Library Location Call Number Status Due Date
Winthrop Adult Fiction Fiction Bala (Text to Phone) Available -
Beverly Main NEW Fiction/ Bala (Text to Phone) Available -
Everett - Parlin Memorial Adult Fiction Bala (Text to Phone) Available -
Marblehead Adult New Fiction NEW FICTION BALA, SHARON 2018 (Text to Phone) Available -
Reading Adult New Fiction NEW FICTION BAL (Text to Phone) Available -
Salem Adult Fiction FIC/ BALA (Text to Phone) Available -
Saugus Adult Fiction FIC Bala (Text to Phone) Available -
Wakefield Adult Fiction (Lower Level) FICTION Bala, S. (Text to Phone) Available -

  • ISBN: 9780385542296
  • ISBN: 0385542291
  • ISBN: 9780525432463
  • ISBN: 0525432469
  • Edition: First edition.
Summary: "For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"-- Provided by publisher.
"A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"-- Provided by publisher.
When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks-- and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum.
Citation: Bala, Sharon. "The boat people." New York : Doubleday, 2018.

Additional Resources